Thursday, 27 October 2016

Resistance Flexibility and Strength Training (RFST)!

Resistance Flexibility and Strength Training (RFST) ®:

  • is a revolutionary technique that empowers you to stretch and strengthen your body through the simple use of resistance
  • is also known as Resistance Stretching or Meridian Stretching
  • shatters the false myth that muscles become more flexible simply by elongating muscles, holding the stretch for whatever period of time, and breathing into the stretch

Resistance Flexibility & Strength Training (RFST) teaches you that:

  • in order to get a true gain in flexibility, you must continuously contract the target muscle group while elongating it
  • a muscle is only truly flexible to the point where it can continue to maximally resist while being lengthened
  • stretching without continuously contracting a muscle produces a false range of motion known as substitution, and ultimately results in over-stretching and injury
  • stretches can be reversed to provide strength training to the same muscle group

Resistance Flexibility & Strength Training (RFST) can be performed:

  • at any time and any place since no equipment is required
  • alone using self-stretches or with other person(s) using assisted stretching techniques
  • alone by the stretcher resisting against his/her own body, the ground, a wall, or other props
  • by two or more people using assisted stretching, where the stretcher resists the movement of the assister(s) while the assister(s) flex/extend, adduct/abduct, and/or inward/outward rotate the target muscle group
Meridian Flexibility System

The Meridian Flexibility System ®:

  • is a program of 16 powerful stretching exercises for each level of practice: beginner, intermediate, advanced, and assisted
  • is rooted in Chinese Medicine and similar to acupuncture and acupressure in that it is based on the various meridian lines that course through the body
  • provides 16 different types of stretches, each one uniquely correlated to:
    • 16 meridians
    • 16 major muscle groups
    • 16 organs
    • 16 high and low physical, spiritual, emotional, and psychological traits
    • 16 genetic personality types
    • 16 classical hatha yoga poses
    • 16 body parts / tissues
    • 16 bone rotational interrelationships

The Meridian Flexibility System (MFS):

  • embodies a balanced approach to physical and mental fitness
  • is a predictable, noninvasive, preventative health program with resulting gains in physical strength and functioning, psychological fitness, and spiritual and emotional development
  • emphasizes that there are four aspects of stretching (position, resistance, breathing, and psychological) that correspond to the four aspects of oneself (physical, spiritual, emotional, and mental)
  • is based on an overall approach to health and well being
  • is rooted in the belief that one cannot be of sound body without sound mind
  • allows a person to overcome physical traumas as well as psychological and emotional obstacles

Front View of Meridians
Head View of Meridians
Back View of Meridians

No comments:

Post a Comment