Tuesday, 30 July 2013

Neck Stretches!

stretch the neck n b tension free!

Neck Extensor Stretch
Neck Extensor and Rotation Stretch

Neck Flexor Stretch

Neck Flexor and Rotation Stretch

Neck Muscle Movements

Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Saturday, 20 July 2013

Fusion of yoga asanas + meridians + other holistic techniques...

The fusion of yoga asanas + nadis/ meridians + other holistic techniques, works to systematically activate and balance energy in the fourteen major meridians and the chakras  or subtle energy pathways– fostering physical health and ease of motion, mental peace and joy, and a feeling of connection with the creative infinite. 

This fusion style includes poses and partner assists to open and balance each of the 14 meridians, improving the health and functioning of the associated organs; PNF/Resistance Stretching, a modern stretching method, scientifically proven to be the most efficient and safest way to elongate muscles and increase range of motion; other techniques (work with acupuncture meridians using finger pressure) that complement the partner-assisted stretches, increasing the circulation of chi energy / prana; and breathing exercises (pranayama) to contact and activate prana.

more to add...so keep looking!!!

pic of the day!

Thursday, 18 July 2013

excerpts from Hatha Yoga Pradipika

The Hatha Yoga Pradipika is a classical text describing Hatha Yoga. It is said to be the oldest surviving text on Hatha Yoga. Swami Swatmarama, a disciple of Swami Goraknath, wrote the text in the 15th century CE, drawing upon previous texts and his own experiences. While the text describes asanas (postures), purifying practices (shatkarma), mudras (finger and hand positions), bandhas (locks), and pranayama (breath exercises), it also explains that the purpose of Hatha Yoga is the awakening of kundalini (subtle energy), advancement to Raja Yoga, and the experience of deep meditative absorption known as samadhi.


at rasa yoga cafe, we offer a variety and mix of practices including hatha, vinyasa, kundalini, restorative, flow, pranayama, meditation and massage. From the raw beginner to the seasoned practitioner, we welcome all for Group sessions and Private sessions.
Our classes are challenging yet fun with clear instructions for breath and body alignment. After your class, receive the healing support of a massage or stretch that is tailored to you.

welcome to rasa yoga cafe!

Explore the mind-body-spirit connection...
Yoga at our center is taught in many forms and fusion of Hatha, Kundalini, vinyasa, power, yin, Thai and partner yoga in combination with other holistic techniques like Ayurveda, massage, stretch, meridian and acupressure.
The classes accommodate all levels, from beginner to the advanced, and is led by an highly experiential and revered instructor practicing various styles of yoga for 21 yrs. Whether you are just starting out, or are a long time practitioner, here is a brief description of what Yoga can do for you.
The physical benefits:
Creates a toned, flexible, and strong body. Improves respiration, energy, and vitality. Helps to maintain a balanced metabolism. Promotes cardio and circulatory health. Relieves pain. Strengthens the nervous system and the immune system. Restores youthful vigor. Improves athletic performance and stamina. Prepares us for our ever demanding and stressful world.
The mental benefits:
Helps you relax and handle stressful situations more easily. Teaches you how to quiet the mind and focus your energy – into a difficult yoga pose, into your relationships, into your workplace or your sporting activities. Encourages positive thoughts, breaks through negative patterns of behavior and promotes self-acceptance, self awareness and inner peace.
The spiritual benefits:
Builds awareness of your body, your feelings, and the world around you. Promotes harmony between mind, body, and spirit, bringing greater peace to everyday existence.

Wednesday, 17 July 2013

random yoga pics...

What Is Rasa?
Rasa: the "taste" or essence of any impression; the aesthetic experience in transcendence; the emotional fulfillment of the soul; the nectar of life.

Rasa means . . . the ultimate creation that a musician strives for, the ability to create through their art form a venue to touch the inner soul. To get to the root of your emotions, to blend completely through this auditory medium his emotions with the audience. This is when the performer and his audience fuse into one. The attainment of such purity is of primary importance in Indian music.
"All that you will learn about music, Indian or otherwise, strives for this final destination where musical notes transcend tonal boundaries and touch centers within the inner soul with a communicative power that can be described as pure enlightenment, or as some have put it, "fusion with god", hence the phrase, coined by the sage Yajnavalka, "true musicians don't have to go to heaven, they are already there!" If you have experienced something like this then you have experienced Rasa!
In the Sanskrit language, Rasa has many different meanings. But all these in a broader sense coalesce towards defining the multitude of human emotions. In one word, perhaps nectar would best describe it. Some define it as a state of climax of the subtle fanciful imagination, reflective emotions, and sentiments in a human mind. When aroused, they produce an extraordinary emotional change or alteration called Rasabhava.

Traditionally, there are nine different types of Rasa, although variations on these are also possible.
1. Shringar - This depicts the sentiment of love, sensuality, and erotic emotions.
2. Raudra - This covers the realm of anger, rage, and other violent wrathful emotions.
3. Hasya - Under this Rasa come the joyful, the comic, and happy emotions.
4. Vibhatsaya - Disgust and ludicrous emotions.
5. Veera - Bravery, heroism, and manliness are some of the attributes of this Rasa.
6. Karuna - Sadness, pathos, compassion, sympathy.
7. Bhayanak - This Rasa caters to the emotions of fear, anxiety, and uncertainty.
8. Adabhuta- Wonder and curiosity are two of the attributes of this Rasa.
9. Shanta - Contemplative, meditative and peaceful emotions form this Rasa.